top of page
Search

Pinterest as a Social Media Promotion Platform

Updated: Mar 3, 2021


According to Hubspot, Pinterest is a social media platform in which users explore, share, and store visual content they find inspiring, helpful, or entertaining. Hootsuite claims that Pinterest is the fourth most popular search engune the USA.

Personally, I am an avid user of Pinterest and have purchased items directly from the site; pinned content to my boards to refer to and inspire future projects, and shared ideas with my friends. With over 250 million people on Pinterest, this platform will be an excellent marketing match for DressMyParty, as according to Hootsuite 90% of users say they look to content on the network to make purchase decisions. I plan to target Pinterest users by sharing beautiful images and content that meets the target market of design focused, eco conscious consumers.



Engagement is Key

Setting up my business Pinterest account will allow access to Pinterest Analytics and other features including a visual search tool, a native video player, and the option to run Pinterest ads should I wish to include this in my integrated marketing strategy. Engagement is key and I will ensure to follow my friends' and competitors boards, “Like” and comment on others’ Pins, re-Pin content, and share links to my website and blog in my Pins.


How to Build a Pinterest Following

Choosing the right categories will be vital for my products, so Pins and boards will be more searchable for users of my Pinterest content.. I will feature my products in the cateories below::


Imagery and Videos

To succeed on Pinterest, images and video content must stand out against all of the others. Canva offers many templates on how to share great and unique visual content on Pinterest which I will ensure to take advantage of! Hubspot claims:

  • Dressmyparty will share images and videos showing how best to use our decor products in action, so viewers can more easily envision themselves using them.

  • Excessively blank (or white) space will be minimised in images — Pinterest images with 30% less blank space in the background are pinned most. (Mhryam 2019).

  • Videos will be between 30-90 seconds long for highest user engagement

  • I will create specific boards to share images of different party types to be as helpful as possible to our audience..


15 views0 comments
bottom of page